Fire District Welcomes New Fire Commissioner and Other Personnel Changes

Clark County Fire District 3 welcomes a new fire commissioner and announces other personnel changes to the fire district.

New fire commissioner
Fire Commissioner Dean Thornberry was sworn-in on August 8 and replaces Scott Anders who stepped down after accepting a job in another state. Thornberry spent 25 years in fire service, including 12 years with Clark County Fire District 3. He retired in 2016 as deputy chief at East County Fire and Rescue. Thornberry is a lifelong Clark County resident. He grew up in Ridgefield but now lives with his wife in the City of Battle Ground. He has two children and two grandchildren. His hobbies include hunting, fishing, and woodworking.

The fire district is looking forward to working with Thornberry and the perspective he brings as a Battle Ground resident to the board of commissioners.

District promotions
Firefighter/paramedic Dustin Waliezer has been promoted to EMS captain. He is responsible for EMS training, long-range measurable goals, and quality assurance. Waliezer began his career in 2001 as a volunteer with Clark County Fire District 3 and was inspired by his father’s service to pursue a career in fire/emergency medical services.

He earned his associate degree in paramedicine from Oregon Health Science University and is currently pursuing a bachelor’s degree in EMS Management through Oregon Institute of Technology and the Managing Officers Program through the National Fire Academy.

Captain Rob Moon is the fire district’s new Cadet program director. He is responsible for Cadet training and retention of the High School Fire Cadet Program. Moon started volunteering with the district in 1999 as a from-home responder and then as a shift volunteer in 2002. He was hired as a career firefighter in 2004 and in 2012, he became an instructor with the Cadet program. In 2016, he earned an associate degree from Portland Community College.

New firefighters
The fire district welcomes five new hires to replace four retiring members and Waliezer’s former firefighter position. Firefighters Tim Axelson and Bryan Bosch are former Clark County Fire District 3 volunteers, while Joseph Harnett, Hayden Lent and Adam Strizak are new to the district.

Fire Commissioner Dean Thornberry, center, takes the oath of office on August 8, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s